I Scream,

The Scream -- Edvard Munch

You scream,

We all scream for ice cream!

Yesterday, in honor of Memorial Day weekend (and the unofficial kick-off of summer here in the States), I decided to try something I’ve never done before — make homemade ice cream.

I love, love, LOVE homemade ice cream. I have always considered it a deliciously special treat. But, I’ve never tried making my own ice cream. I’ve had a recipe for no-sugar-added ice cream that I’ve been wanting to try for years, and I decided that now is the time. 🙂

There are several tasty varieties of no-sugar-added commercially-produced ice creams, but they all have one thing in common: maltitol. Maltitol tends to have a deleterious effect on the digestive system if over-eaten; some have a bad reaction to it, regardless. As my beloved is blessed with an enviable metabolism and a hearty appetite, I often have to remind him to be mindful of any foods containing maltitol so that he doesn’t over-indulge and have an upset digestive tract.

So, I called my in-laws and asked if we could borrow their ice cream freezer (they kindly agreed), made up a shopping list for the ingredients, and conspired with hubby for us to attempt making chocolate ice cream on Saturday.

We had just put the ice cream into the freezer when we got the extremely pleasant surprise of our younger nephew — who has been working and living in Connecticut these past several years — stopping in for a visit during his very brief break home. So while the freezer churned, we sat down with iced tea (with lemon) and caught up with our nephew. When the ice cream finished, we all three had a wee bowl, and peoples, let me tell you:

IT…WAS…GOOD.

Hubby couldn’t believe it was homemade ice cream (unlike me, he doesn’t have a love of homemade ice cream) and Nephew couldn’t believe it was sugar-free. The tempered egg imparts a seemingly decadent richness while the vanilla extract counterbalances and enhances the spiciness of the chocolate flavor.

I’m emboldened now to experiment with the recipe and develop some other flavors.

Like most homemade ice creams, it tastes best when it’s freshly made; time in the freezer alters the texture a bit.

I adapted this from a Simply Sweet cook booklet from the makers of Equal. The ice cream batter (I suppose one would call it a batter in its unfrozen state? I am, anyway 😉 ) smells impossibly yummy. After it’s frozen, the divine smell is transformed into incredibly yummy taste.

Best Ever Chocolate Ice Cream (Makes about 1 3/4 quarts)

  • 2 envelopes unflavored gelatin (Vegetarians: use vegetarian gelatin)
  • 4 cups light cream (I used 2% evaporated milk)
  • 3 lightly beaten eggs OR 3/4 cup egg substitute) (I used eggs)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup Splenda granular (measures for measure like sugar)
  1. In a large bowl, mix together the 1/2 cup cocoa powder and 1 cup of Splenda.
  2. In a medium saucepan, mix together 2 cups of the cream/milk and the 2 packets of gelatin. Let stand for 5 minutes.
  3. Cook and stir over medium heat until the mixture just comes to a boil.
  4. Gradually stir about 1 cup of the hot mixture into the egg, beating constantly to temper the egg. Return all to saucepan.
  5. Stirring constantly, cook for 2 more minutes on lower heat. DO NOT BOIL.
  6. Remove from heat; stir in remaining 2 cups cream/milk and 1 tablespoon of vanilla.
  7. Gradually stir into cocoa powder/Splenda mixture. (I used a mixer to help make sure it was smooth and well mixed.
  8. Cover and refrigerate, stirring occasionally, just until chilled. DO NOT OVERCHILL. (I had this in the ‘fridge for about 30 -40 minutes.)
  9. Freeze mixture as per the instructions with your ice cream freezer.
  10. Enjoy!
About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Ice Cream and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Scream,

  1. Pingback: Well, That’s Just Peachy! | That Smells Yummy!

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Fields | That Smells Yummy!

  3. LinnieGayl says:

    I haven’t had homemade ice cream in years, but do remember it as being absolutely delicious. So glad your experiment worked, Missie.

Leave a Reply

