Give a Man a Fish…

…and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.

So goes the old saying.

Hubby and thought fish sounded tasty to us for supper tonight. I still have some tilapia fillets in the freezer, but I was wanting a new and different way to fix it.

So, inspired by my cookbooks and Google, I decided to try a something new: Oven-Fried Dijon Tilapia Fillets.

I usually grab the bargain-priced three-pound bag of frozen tilapia fillets (3 pounds for $10 at WalMart). Tilapia is a lean (100 calories per 4 ounce serving) and versatile fish source. (And yes, this is farm-raised tilapia, which, apparently, has garnered bad press for not being “healthy.” However, I don’t see any alarm triggers for me when I look at the nutrition label — 100 calories per 4 ounces, 2.5 grams fat, 1 gram of which is saturated…*shrug*).

Tilapia is so versatile, I’ve prepared in it a variety of ways — and thus far, we’ve enjoyed all of them. For this recipe, you spread each fillet with a salad dressing (I used light Miracle Whip) and Dijon mustard combo and coat it in seasoned Panko and soft bread crumbs. As hubby and I remarked, it makes you think a wee bit of fish with tartar sauce (although neither of us tend to use tartar sauce, unless it’s my homemade tartar sauce), but it’s a moist, slightly crispy, tasty piece of fish.

Hubby gave the recipe tonight his highest praise: “It’s a keeper!”

This smells and tastes so yummy that you’ll find yourself singing along with the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band about Fishin in the Dark 🙂 (Go on,  give it a listen — it’ll brighten up your day, you know it will!)

Oven-Fried Dijon Tilapia (Makes about 4 servings; easy to adjust up and down)

  • Approximately 1 1/2 pounds of tilapia fillets
  • Equal parts light salad dressing (I used Miracle Whip, light mayonnaise would work, also) and Dijon mustard (I used a couple – three tablespoons of each)
  • 1 slice bread (I used a slice of wheat sandwich bread), whizzed up in a blender or wee food processor to make soft bread crumbs
  • 3/4 to 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • Seasonings to taste: garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, parsley, and coarse ground black pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Line a cookie sheet with foil (dull side up). Lightly spray foil with cooking spray or lightly oil the foil.
  2. In a shallow dish, mix together approximately equal parts light salad dressing and Dijon mustard.
  3. In a shallow dish, mix together Panko and soft bread crumbs. Season to taste.
  4. Spread each side of fish fillet lightly with salad dressing/Dijon mixture. Dredge in seasoned Panko/soft bread crumbs. (I would spread one side of the fillet, place it coated side down in the bread crumbs, lightly spread the exposed side with the salad dressing/Dijon mixture and coat that side with the crumbs.)
  5. Place fillets in a single layer on cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. (NOTE: Ovens vary. After 10 minutes, I turned the oven off and left the fillets in the oven for another 5 to 10 minutes while I finished up the rest of the meal. The fish was done perfectly.)
  6. Refrigerate leftovers.
About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Fish/Seafood, Main Dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Give a Man a Fish…

  1. LinnieGayl says:

    This is definitely something I’d like, and it sounds really easy. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

