Like a Fish in the Sea

Hubby and thought fish sounded tasty to us for supper tonight. As we’d most recently eaten Blackened Salmon , I was thinking it might be tasty if I broke into the four-pound bargain bag of frozen tilapia fillets I had in the freezer.

I usually grab the bargain-priced three-pound bag of frozen tilapia fillets (3 pounds for $10 at WalMart), but the last time I was shopping, there were four-pound bags for $12 or so, so I snapped one up.

Tilapia is a lean (100 calories per 4 ounce serving) and versatile fish source. (And yes, this is farm-raised tilapia, which, apparently, has garnered bad press for not being “healthy.” However, I don’t see any alarm triggers for me when I look at the nutrition label — 100 calories per 4 ounces, 2.5 grams fat, 1 gram of which is saturated…*shrug*).

Tilapia is so versatile, I’ve prepared in it a variety of ways — and thus far, we’ve enjoyed all of them. Inspired by a recipe for Baked Tilapia with Herb Butter that I found on FoodNetwork.com,  I chose the recipe I tried tonight as inspiration because it allowed me to use up some fresh produce (namely celery and green onions) that I was wanting to find uses for.

Hubby commented tonight, “This is better than any fish I’ve ever ordered in any restaurant. This is like a gourmet meal.”

After I picked my jaw up from my plate, I said, “Well, I suppose I should make note of what I did while it’s still fresh on my memory, eh?”

To which my beloved responded, “Yes, PLEASE do!”

So, herein is how I made the fish tonight. The recipe that served as inspiration has one wrap up each individual serving in aluminum foil and baking on a cookie sheet/baking sheet; as the recipe is so easy to adjust up and down, the “wrap in foil” option would work well for single servings.

I promise, this smells — and tastes! — so yummy, that you’ll find yourself singing songs that mention fish (like Uncle Kracker’s “Follow Me.” Go on. Give it a listen. It’s a great song, and you know you want to!).

Tilapia with Mushrooms, Celery, & Green Onions (Makes about 4 servings; easy to adjust up and down)

  • Approximately 1 1/2 pounds of tilapia fillets
  • 4 to 8 ounces fresh mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 4 to 6 celery stalks, sliced
  • 6 or so green onions, sliced
  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine (I used a combo of both)
  • Dried tarragon to taste (fresh would be great, but I didn’t have any)
  • Dried basil to taste (fresh would be great, but I didn’t have any)
  • Salt & pepper to taste (I used coarse-ground sea salt and coarse-ground black pepper)
  1. Distribute sliced mushrooms across a 13″x9″ glass pan. Spread sliced celery and then sliced green onions on top of the mushrooms. Dot with two or so tablespoons of margarine or butter. Season to taste with salt and pepper. (I’d meant to sprinkle the veggies with some tarragon and basil, too, but I forgot.)
  2. Place fish, in a single layer, on top of veggies. Dot with remaining butter/margarine. Season to taste with salt, pepper, tarragon, and basil.
  3. Cover casserole with foil, sealing to the edges of the pan.
  4. Place in oven (I did NOT preheat!) and turn oven to 400F.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes.
  6. Turn oven off and let fish and veggies rest in oven for another 5 to 10 minutes.
  7. Serve, drizzling veggie and butter juices over each serving.
  8. Refrigerate leftovers.
About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Fish/Seafood, Main Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like a Fish in the Sea

  1. LinnieGayl says:

    I have some frozen tilapia right now. Thinking I’ll pick up some mushrooms and celery and give this a try! I had a horrible experience with tuna I purchased marinated and frozen from Trader Joe’s last night, so am eager for a good fish experience.

Leave a Reply

