Bleu Bayou

In case you didn’t already know, my hubby LOVES bleu (blue) cheese. Well, actually, he pretty much enjoys ‘most any kind of cheese.

I’m rather fond of it myself. 😉

As a matter of fact, the only way he really enjoys coleslaw anymore is if it is bleu cheese coleslaw — ‘though much to his disappointment, I will sometimes make another kind of coleslaw.

This past Sunday, I was feeling in a bleu cheese-kinda mood, and so, inspired by a recipe on the back of a box of Athens Fillo Shells I had in my freezer, I decided to make us some Bleu Cheese Cups to eat as part of a “snacky” lunch (appetizers as a meal), and then at supper, inspired by a recipe for Blue Cheese Toast in my “Irish Pub Cooking” cookbook, I made us Bleu Cheese Garlic Toast with some of my UnFrench French Bread to go along with supper.

Hubby has now said that when he wants “garlic toast,” this is what he wants. 🙂

When I made the filling for the Bleu Cheese Cups, even though I reduced the filling recipe from my inspiration recipe, I ended up with more than I needed to fill (generously) the 15 fillo cups. No worries, ‘though, as at my suggestion, hubby used the remaining cheese as a  cheese spread on ham sandwiches for lunch. 🙂

Likewises, the Bleu Cheese Garlic Butter works great as a spread to make any hamburger a Bleu Cheese Burger 🙂

You’d have never thought you’d be so happy to be in Bleu Bayou 🙂 (Go on, you know you love this song and Linda’s rendition of it!!)

Blue Cheese Cups (Makes 15 appetizer cups)

Note: I made this with 6 ounces of Neufchâtel and had cheese filling/spread left over. You could probably use 4 ounces of Neufchâtel and have just enough to fill the appetizer cups. It’s easy enough to use the leftover filling, though — use it as a spread on crackers or as the cheese for sandwiches!

  • 1 package (15 total) appetizer fillo shells (or use crackers, toast, or bread)
  • 6 ounces Neufchâtel cheese, softened
  • Sliced green onions to taste (1 to 2)
  • Healthy splash (tablespoon or so) of lemon juice
  • Chopped toasted walnuts to taste
  • 1 to 2 ounces thin, lean smoked luncheon ham, minced/chopped (Vegetarians: Leave out or use your favorite vegan substitute!)
  • Crumbled bleu cheese to taste (about 1/3 to 1/2 amount of Neufchâtel cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon butter, softened
  1. Stir together the Neufchâtel cheese, green onions (reserve a bit for garnish), walnuts (reserve a bit for garnish), butter, ham, and crumbled bleu cheese.
  2. Using two spoons, spoon into fillo shells.
  3. Garnish filled shells with chopped walnuts and minced green onion. Enjoy immediately.
  4. Refrigerate any leftover filling and enjoy as a spread on crackers or sandwiches.
Bleu Cheese Garlic Spread (Adjust up and down for desired number of servings)
  • Softened butter or margarine (I like to use a combination of butter and calcium-enriched margarine spread)
  • Crumbled bleu cheese to taste (I generally prefer 
  • Minced garlic (or garlic powder) to taste
  1. Mix all ingredients together to taste (I generally like 1 1/2 to 2 parts butter/margarine to 1 part bleu cheese). Add in garlic to taste.
  2. Spread on bread and toast.
  3. Refrigerate leftovers. (Note: Turn any burger into a bleu cheese burger by spreading bleu cheese garlic spread on the bun and toasting it!)


About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Bread, Vegetarian/Meatless and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

