I Say Clafoutis…

Raspberries05…and you say flaugnarde!

Well, actually, no, you probably don’t. ūüėČ

The 14th of July is Bastille Day. While I enjoyed how we celebrated last year, I wanted to find some new ways for us to celebrate this year. In all my Googling, one of the things that caught my eye was a recipe suggested by Food and Wine for a  Raspberry Clafoutis. 

Clafoutis is a fruit dessert, rather like a baked fruit custard. As Wikipedia tells us:

Clafoutis (French pronunciation: ‚Äč[klafuti]; Occitan: clafot√≠s [klafuňątis / k éafuňątiňź]), sometimes in Anglophone countries spelled clafouti, is a baked French dessert of black cherries arranged in a buttered dish and covered with a thick flan-like batter. The clafoutis is dusted with powdered sugar and served lukewarm.

A traditional Limousin clafoutis contains pits of the cherries. According to baking purists, the pits release a wonderful flavor when the dish is cooked. If the cherry pits are removed prior to baking, the clafoutis will be milder in flavor.

The clafoutis comes from the Limousin region of France and while black cherries are traditional there are numerous variations using other fruits including red cherries, plums, prunes, apples, cranberries or blackberries. When other kinds of fruit are used instead of cherries, the dish is properly called a flaugnarde.

While I find fresh cherries delicious, I didn’t want to futz with having to pit so many of them for this dessert, and so the recipe for the Raspberry Clafoutis really appealed to me. But seeing as I didn’t use cherries, it could be argued that what I made was a flaugnarde, instead.

This recipe appealed to me because I could easily make it sugar-free (I substituted Splenda for the sugar and the powdered sugar) and because it was easy to put together.

If your raspberries aren’t fully and completely ripe, they will taste quite tart — the initial piece I had seemed tart to me, even with a dollop of whipped cream on top. However, the raspberries became sweeter as time went on — at least, that’s what my hubby said (as is usual with me, I ate one piece of the dessert and then my beloved ate the rest of it over the course of a few days).

I’m sure this can be made with other fruits, as well. The recipe that inspired this calls for a 9″ gratin dish; I just used a 9″ glass pie plate. A tart pan might well work, also.

So the next time you want an easy, fruity dessert, consider whipping up a yummy, easy Raspberry Clafoutis! Pour yourself a glass of wine while it bakes and mentally transport yourself to the Limousin region of France.

 

Raspberry Clafoutis (Serves 8 to 10)

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons Splenda granular (or other favorite sugar substitute that measures for measure like sugar)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs (or 3/4 cup egg substitute)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • Zest from 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons milk (I used 1%)
  • 1 1/2 pints raspberries (3 cups) (Be generous with the fruit!)
  • Splenda or other favorite artificial sweetener for sprinkling on top
  • Whipped cream, if desired
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Melt butter and set aside.
  3. Lightly butter or spray with cooking spray a 9″ glass pie plate.
  4. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, pinch of salt, and sugar substitute. (NOTE: remember to use one that measures-for-measure like sugar). Whisk in the eggs, melted butter, and lemon zest until smooth. Whisk in the milk until mixture is very smooth (about 3 minutes).
  5. Pour into prepared dish and top with raspberries.
  6. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, until clafoutis is set and golden.
  7. Let rest for 5 to 15 minutes before slicing. Dollop each serving with some whipped cream, if desired.
  8. Refrigerate leftovers. Gently reheat each serving, if desired, or eat cold.
About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Vegetarian/Meatless and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Say Clafoutis…

  1. Pingback: Looking for a Holiday? | That Smells Yummy!

Leave a Reply

