Blame It on the Cilantro!

cilantroWe love TexMex at our house. One of our favorite dishes is enchiladas, and I have several variations on this delicious, yummy, casserole-style dish.

Last week, inspired by a combination of a hankering for some TexMex and a desire to use up some various yummy odds and ends in my ‘fridge (specifically fresh cilantro, cream cheese, fat-free Greek yogurt, and some fresh tomato), I came up with the idea for Enchiladas Supreme.

While you can make your enchiladas with corn or flour tortillas (use fajita-size or soft-taco size when using flour tortillas), when I made these, I decided to make them super special by making my own flour tortillas.

I kept the dish rich in flavor but on the lighter side by using

While I made this to use up some items in my ‘fridge, there’s nothing “leftover” about the way it tastes.  And remember, peoples — do yourself a favor and grate your own cheese! Not only is it more afforable, it tastes better and will melt better than pre-grated cheese. Helpful hint: To make the washing up of your grater easier, spray it lightly with non-stick cooking spray before you grate your cheese.

I rounded out the meal with Saffron Rice (easy-peasy from a packet) and a tin of refried beans to which I added some diced tomato, fresh cilantro, and a bit of grated cheese.

So the next time you’re craving enchiladas but want to make them a little different, give Enchiladas Supreme a try — they smell so yummy, you’ll find yourself singing and dancing to “The Enchilada Song.” (Go on, watch it — you know you want to! How can you say no to Martin, Lewis, and Carmen Miranda?)

Missie’s Enchiladas Supreme (Serves 4 to 6)

  • 8 corn or flour tortillas (I used homemade flour tortillas)
  • 4 ounces light cream cheese, softened (I used a cream cheese made from Greek yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt (I’m in love with Stonyfield Greek yogurt)
  • 8 ounces reduced-fat shredded cheese for filling (I used a jalapeño cheddar; use whatever kind of cheddar, Jack, or Colby cheese you like/have on hand)
  • 3 – 4 ounces shredded cheese for topping (I used a regular-fat Colby/cheddar blend)
  • Chopped fresh cilantro to taste (I was generous with it)
  • Diced/sliced onion to taste (green onion, Spanish onion, yellow onion — whatever you have on hand)
  • Diced tomato to taste
  • Favorite enchilada sauce (I typically make mine with a McCormick’s Enchilada Sauce packet, but tinned sauce will work, also)
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together cream cheese and yogurt. Stir in 8 ounces of reduced fat cheese. Stir in fresh cilantro to taste (I was pretty generous with it).
  2. If using any onion other than a green onion, saute onion in a non-stick skillet until it is softened and  just begins to caramelize.
  3. Lightly spray an 11″x7″ pan with cooking spray. Spread a thin layer (about 1/2 cup or so) of enchilada sauce along the bottom of the pan.
  4. Gently heat tortillas to soften them (I like to steam them in the microwave in a damp paper towel). I typically assemble 4 enchiladas at a time.
  5. Divide cream cheese/yogurt/grated cheese/cilantro mixture among tortillas: Spread mixture down center of each tortilla. Sprinkle with onion and diced tomato to taste. Roll tightly and place, seam-side down, in prepared pan.
  6. Once all enchiladas are in the pan, pour remaining sauce over them. Sprinkle 3  ounces grated cheese over top of enchiladas. If desired, also sprinkle with a bit more cilantro and diced tomato.
  7. Bake at 350F (no need to preheat!) until heated through and bubbly, about 25 – 30 minutes. (If oven is pre-heated, bake for 15 to 20 minutes.)  Let rest for 5 – 10 minutes before serving.
  8. Refrigerate or freeze leftovers.
About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, TexMex, Vegetarian/Meatless and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

