Some Enchanted Evening, Part 2 of 2

A very young me with Uncle Bob & Aunt Lois

A very young me with Uncle Bob & Aunt Lois

Losing Aunt Lois was a heart-breaking event that capped off a pretty lousy year. Having to break the news to my ailing mom on Christmas Eve was a challenge which I hoped I handled well (as well as one can, under those circumstances), but it was not a challenge I wanted.

Our Christmas Eve was bittersweet as we reminisced about Aunt Lois while arranging gifts on the tree, listening to Christmas carols, watching holiday films, and other pleasant, festive holiday distractions. I had planned a lovely, but low key, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for us. On Christmas Day, the kids and grandkids would be joining us later in the afternoon (I’d picked up a rib roast for that occasion), but Christmas Eve would just be hubby, Mom, and me. I wanted something easy, but also something special — I wanted us to have an Enchanted Evening. 🙂 (And heaven knows we all deserved one.) I happily wiled away time Googling and pondering recipes. Then my menu came together — something new that I’d never tried before (although when has that stopped me? LOL): Pecan Crusted Salmon  and Cheesy Rice with Broccoli.

Back Row, Left to Right: Cousin Bobby, Cousin Peggy, my late Cousin Paul; Front Row: Uncle Bob and Aunt Lois

Back Row, Left to Right: Cousin Bobby, Cousin Peggy, my late Cousin Paul; Front Row: Uncle Bob and Aunt Lois

When it came time for supper, I poured Mom and me both some wine. Mom and hubby both asked what we were having. “It’s a surprise,” I said, “Something we’ve never had before!” Hubby, eyeing the salmon fillets thawing in the sink, said, “Salmon? We’ve had that before!” To which I replied “Not the way we’re having it tonight!”

After our supper, Mom commented that were it not for the sad news we’d gotten casting a pall over things, it would have been absolutely perfect and wonderfully festive.

This menu, although easy, will make any evening enchanted,  making it perfect for a holiday, date night, or other festive or celebratory occasion. 🙂 The recipe, as written, serve four, but the recipe can be adjusted up or down. You can substitute another medium-textured fish, such as tilapia, for the salmon, if you prefer.

It smells, tastes, and looks yummy!

 

 

Pecan-Crusted Salmon (Serves 4)

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless salmon, cut into 4 serving pieces
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans
  • approximately 1/4 cup bread crumbs (soft or dry will work)
  • Parsley to taste (dried or minced fresh)
  • 1 egg
  • Splash of milk
  • Grated peel from one lemon
  • Salt and pepper to taste (I used a sprinkling of sea salt and coarse ground pepper)
  • Couple tablespoons of oil or mix of oil and butter

NOTE: You can substitute another medium-textured fish, such as tilapia, for the salmon if you wish.

  1. Preheat oven to 425F . About halfway through the preheating time, add oil or butter and oil in a 13″x9″ pan and place in oven to preheat pan and oil or oil/butter combo.
  2. In a shallow dish, mix together pecans, bread crumbs, parsley, and lemon zest.
  3. In another shallow dish, mix together egg and milk.
  4. Season salmon to taste with salt and pepper. Coat salmon in egg mixture, then in pecan/bread crumb mixture, pressing in the pecans as needed.
  5. Place in preheated pan and bake (uncovered) for 15 to 20 minutes, until fillets are done. (If desired, you can GENTLY turn the fillets about halfway through). Let rest in a warm place for 5 or 10 minutes before serving.
  6. Sprinkle with lemon juice before serving, if desired.
  7. Refrigerate leftovers.

Like “That Smells Yummy!” on FaceBook for more fun!

http://www.facebook.com/that.smells.yummy

About MissieLee

I love tasty food prepared in a healthy way with a budget in mind.
This entry was posted in Fish/Seafood, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Enchanted Evening, Part 2 of 2

  1. Pingback: Some Enchanted Evening, Part 1 of 2 | That Smells Yummy!

Leave a Reply

